Sleep Interrupted

One of my cousins decided to call me at 10:45pm last night to inform me about the demise of Bin Laden. Apparently cousin thought that since I don’t own a tv, I had no way of hearing the news. I was polite but unimpressed at having my sleep interrupted. I manage to keep abreast of current events just fine, thank you very much. (Speaking of the demise, this post at The Agitator has a sobering take on the matter.)

Very stressful day. Just under 11 hours at work, and it ended with a longer to-do list than the one I had this morning. Let’s just say that if I hadn’t tracked food throughout the day I would have bought and then scarfed down pizza and ice cream this evening.

Things done yesterday to increase the chances of success today: presetting the coffee machine so that I’d wake up to freshly brewed coffee, assembling most of my lunch, and setting out the dishes I’d need to make breakfast.

Today’s food: 36=29dt+7wa (42 wa remaining)
Using the ww pts to track because it’s faster than entering all the macros on FD. I’m no longer a ww member, but I still have all the materials (as well as the little blue calculator gadget) so I may as well use them.
– Breakfast [8]: egg + egg white, bagel thin, slice cheese, ketchup, coffee, 2 tbsps half and half
– Snack [4]: banana, biscotti, coffee, 2 tbsps half and half
– Lunch [8]: yogurt, cabbage salad, 1 tbsp dressing, bagel thin, turkey, apple, diet ginger ale
– Snack [4] kashi bar, apple
– Dinner [12] banana, pasta with veggies, mini bag popcorn, instant decaf coffee, 0.75 c. 1% milk.
– Water: 1L

2 thoughts on “Sleep Interrupted

  1. “There was something unsettling about watching giddy crowds bounce around beach balls and climb telephone polls last night, as if they were in the lawn seats at a rock festival. Solemn and somber appreciation that an evil man is gone seemed like the more appropriate reaction.”

    I was appalled at those scenes – “somber appreciation” is indeed appropriate.

    I like your “increase the chances of success today.”

  2. I’m not appalled; I think a champagne toast and a rousing chorus of ‘ding dong the terrorist scumbucket is dead’ would have been fine.
    However, I am concerned about the freedoms lost since 9-11 and the prospects of getting them back.

Comments are closed.